top of page




  • Rob Dyer

Vince Mapley Memorial Trophy - Rider Line Up

Not long until the first meeting of the season and the Wightlink Warriors management have confirmed the names of the riders who will be taking part in what will be the fourth staging of the Vince Mapley Memorial Trophy.

Thursday 11th April is the date for the curtain raiser and the following riders will be on show. In alphabetical order: Danny Ayres (Mildenhall), Scott Campos (Plymouth), Ryan Terry-Daley (Wightlink Warriors), Connor King (Wightlink Warriors), James Laker (Weymouth), Joe Lawlor (Unattached), the holder Ben Morley(Wightlink Warriors), Danno Verge (Wightlink Warriors), Chris Widman (Wightlink Warriors), Chad Wirtzfeld (Wightlink Warriors), Georgie Wood (Wightlink Warriors), Tom Woolley (Unattached). Reserve Morgan Williams (Wightlink Wizards).

Wightlink Warriors co-promoter said “As usual we will be getting our season under way with the Vince Mapley Memorial Trophy in recognition of a fine man who did so much for speedway on the Island.

It gives a chance to all our riders to get some valuable track time before the National Trophy competition gets going at the end of the month and I’m sure our fans will be eagerly anticipating the close battles between Ben and Georgie not to mention Danny Ayres who set the fastest time around Smallbrook last season.

With the schools having broken up for the Easter holidays we are hoping for a bumper opening night crowd to join in with all our usual fun and games and with the Under 21 championship semi-final at Smallbrook the following Tuesday, we really hope to kick the 2019 season off with a bang”.


bottom of page