• Rob Dyer

2020 Warrior Fixtures

The British Speedway Promoters Association have released the fixture dates for the three major UK leagues and ‘Wightlink’ Warrior fans can now start planning for their regular summer speedway fix.

After the club’s Press and Practice Day at Smallbrook Stadium in Ryde on Saturday 28th March, the new season proper (the fifth under the Bishop / Widman banner) will open up on Thursday 9 April with the first of three qualifying rounds of the British Under 21 Championship as some of the cream of the country’s up and coming stars gather on the Island looking to amass sufficient points to progress to the age group final to be held at Redcar in May.

The second fixture will feature The Vince Mapley Memorial Trophy on Thursday 16 April and thereafter the Warriors will be seen in National Development League, National Trophy and Knock Out Cup action all supplemented by additional meetings that are likely to include amongst others a Formula 2 night, best pair’s competition, handicap racing and hopefully another NICE challenge where all riders compete on standardised equipment.

After the Press and Practice Day, there will be a ‘Meet The Riders’ evening in the Premier Lounge at Smallbrook Stadium that is open to all.

The date for the prestigious National Development League Pairs Championship will be advised in due course.

Wizard’s fixtures will also be announced in due course.

The full fixture list is shown below with the usual proviso that some alterations are possible during the course of the season and supporters are recommended to check the Warriors web-site for updates:


Saturday 28th Home Press & Practice Day


Thursday 9th Home British Under 21 Qualifying Round

Thursday 16th Home Vince Mapley Memorial Trophy

Thursday 23rd Home Reserved (to be used in case of rain off)

Thursday 30th Home Plymouth (National Development League)


Friday 1st Away Plymouth (National Development League)

Thursday 7th Home Leicester (Knock Out Cup)

Sunday 10th Away Leicester (Knock Out Cup)

Wednesday 20th Away Kent (National Development League)