top of page




  • Rob Dyer

British Under 21 Championship Semi-Final Takes Centre Stage

The Island club management are gearing up for an exciting night of action when the cream of Britain’s youth riders cross the Solent for the first semi-final of the British Under 21 Individual Championship which takes place at the Smallbrook Stadium in Ryde on Tuesday 16 April (7.00 pm).

Twelve young talents will be battling it out to secure a top three finish and qualify for the final at Berwick at the end of this month where they will join ten seeded riders.

The Wightlink Warriors will have two representatives with Connor King and Chad Wirtzfeld hoping to make the most of home track knowledge and support; however they will be facing stiff competition from Championship League riders Ryan Kinsley, Luke Ruddick and Anders Rowe who should be looking for outright qualification on the night.

Warriors co-promoter Barry Bishop is expecting a close and unpredictable meeting and said, “We have been very honoured by the speedway authorities trusting us to host this meeting and our volunteers and off-track team will be working flat out to present our club in the best possible light and to show everyone what a great occasion we deliver each and every week.

We have received marvellous help from Wightlink with the organisation for this meeting and I sincerely thank them for their invaluable backing.

And in a ground breaking initiative we would like to invite season ticket holders from ANY British speedway track to join us free of charge as our guests on the night as we celebrate the continued development of youth speedway in this country. Visiting season ticket holders will need to bring their own track’s tickets to be admitted on the night.

On track we are sure to see a tense struggle for those precious top three positions. There is sure to be some uncompromising action and every heat is likely to contain a young gun looking to cause an upset. This truly is a meeting not to be missed and when we add in all our usual off track fun I hope we can draw a large crowd to support the future stars of our sport. As always the gates will open at 5.30 pm and there is no increase on normal admission prices”.

The line up in draw order is:

Nathan Ablitt (Kent), Luke Ruddick (Edinburgh/Leicester), Ryan Kinsley (Scunthorpe), Chad Wirtzfeld (IOW), Ben Woodhull (Belle Vue), Jamie Bursill (Plymouth), Connor King (IOW), Joe Alcock (Stoke), Jordan Palin (Belle Vue), Alex Spooner (Kent), Jordan Jenkins (Kent), Anders Rowe (Somerset/Kent). Reserve James Laker (Weymouth).


bottom of page