top of page




  • Rob Dyer

Final Four For NICE Challenge

The final four riders for next week's NICE Challenge have been confirmed and the Warriors management have pulled off quite a coup by enticing Polish rider Tomasz Orwat to compete.

Nineteen year old Orwat rides for the famous Polonia Bydgoszcz club in his home country alongside Poole Pirates captain Josh Grajczonek, French number one Dimitri Berge and Danish stalwart Rene Bach and he brings impressive credentials to the Island as he was the winner of this meetings equivalent in Poland last year.

Adding his own brand of spice to the meeting will be Island specialist Danny Ayres whose attacking style is so well suited to Smallbrook's wide and pacy track. Ayres has really stepped his game up this season and in addition to captaining the Mildenhall Fen Tigers in the National League, he is now becoming quite a force at Championship level with a well earned British Final appearance on his calendar for the end of July.

Completing the twelve rider line up will be two more Warriors for home fans to cheer on in the shape of newly returned Scott Campos and Chris Widman who notched his best score for several weeks last night.

As can be imagined with an event of this importance a huge amount of time and organisation has gone into making this very special speedway meeting the best it can be. The Warriors will be putting their reputation for outstanding promotion on the line and they will be setting a standard that the following rounds at Daugvapils (Latvia) and Tarnow (Po