top of page




  • Rob Dyer

Meeting Preview - Warriors v Eagles (NT)

The Warriors entertain Eastbourne Eagles for the second time this season when the Sussex side visit in a National Trophy fixture on Thursday (7 June).

The initial encounter, a first round Knock Out Cup tie, produced plenty of hard fought, close action that saw the Eagles eventually run out six point winners on the night. They have since beaten Coventry in round two and are well on the way to retaining the Cup for a fourth successive season.

For this meeting the visitors will be without the services of influential second string Charley Powell (collar bone injury) and reserve Charlie Brooks (taking school examination), however the Eagles heat-leader trio of Georgie Wood, Tom Brennan and Mark Baseby have enjoyed good early season form and with exciting teenager Jason Edwards putting four points on his starting average the home side will need to be on top form if they are to clip the Eagles wings.

Warriors’ task will be helped by the very welcome return from injury of Ben Morley who has recovered from his wrist dislocation and Scott Campos who is ok to resume following the shoulder stinger sustained two weeks ago. With the Warriors management still considering how best to fill Adam Portwood’s reserve vacancy, they offer another opportunity to Jamie Bursill to guest in this meeting.

Co-promoter said, “ After the disappointment of last week’s rained off meeting, not to mention our heavy defeat at Mildenhall on Sunday, it will be good to get on to home shale again and welcome Ben and Scott back into the side. And they return against one of the best sides in our league so no easy comebacks at all. In addition to the home meeting against the Eagles, we go to Plymouth on Friday for a league meeting and so this week the management team will be working hard with the riders to restore confidence and generate a belief in ourselves that will see us back to winning ways”.

Early team news for Thursday:

Warriors – Ben Morley, Danno Verge, Scott Campos, Chris Widman, Ben Hopwood, Jamie Bursill, Shaun Tedham.

Eagles – Georgie Wood, Jason Edwards, Tom Brennan, Charley Powell R/R, Mark Baseby, Nick Laurence, Kelsey Dugard.

As usual, gates open at 5.30 pm with the first race starting at 7.00 pm.

bottom of page