top of page




  • Rob Dyer

Jason Edwards Is NORA Solo Champion

The Wightlink Warriors staged the first ever NORA 500cc Solo Speedway Championship last night and in the most dramatic meeting of 2021 at Smallbrook Stadium, Essex based racer Jason Edwards (pictured) was crowned Champion after a pulsating Grand Final saw race leader Connor Coles crash spectacularly on the very last bend of the event.

That was the second of two major incidents that had the crowd holding their breath. Earlier lady rider Ruth Holder-Smith, competing in one of the support races, suffered a crashing fall on the home straight with a 40 minute delay ensuing whilst the stricken rider received medical attention and comfort. Ruth was knocked unconscious and was taken to St. Mary’s hospital by County Ambulance having come round and complained of shoulder and pelvic pain.

When racing resumed in the main event the action was fast and furious with pre-meeting favourite Edward Kennett showing a clean pair of wheels to all the opposition as he completed his qualifying rides unbeaten. His former Eastbourne team mate Jason Edwards finished second in qualification with 10 points that included some stunning passing manoeuvres, whilst Coles secured a final place with two late wins after an early fall and the final line up was completed by Exeter based Henry Atkins continuing his successful comeback from major shoulder surgery.