top of page




  • Rob Dyer

James Shanes and Edward Kennett To Ride In Island Masters Round 2

The second round of the Island Masters track racing series is the feature event this Thursday (5 August) at the Smallbrook Stadium as the Wightlink Warriors very successful Summer Spectaculars continue.

The first round of the Island Masters two weeks ago produced some fascinating action with former Grasstrack Masters champion Andrew Appleton showing a clean pair of wheels to the competition as he raced to five classy wins out of five. He’s back hoping to carry on where he left off, however it won’t be easy for the Berkshire based racer as meeting co-ordinator Ben Ilsley has pulled off a master stroke by including multi-talented Championship speedway stars James Shanes (pictured) of Birmingham - like Appleton a former four time British Grasstrack champion – and Edward Kennett from Eastbourne who’s a regular on the podium’s at grass meetings up and down the country and whose all action style will suit the Island track beautifully. Last times’ A finalist Rob Fortune is also returning as is the unluckiest man from Round 1, Charley Powell whose fall probably cost him an A final place.

The line-up in draw order: 1. Edward Kennett 2. Rob Fortune 3. Chad Wirtzfeld 4. Nigel Coates 5. Ben Phillips 6. Eric Pike 7.