top of page




  • Writer's pictureRob Dyer

Island Masters Round 1 - Rider Line-Up

Wightlink Warriors first action packed track meeting at the Smallbrook Stadium next Thursday (22nd July) brings together twelve stars of the grasstrack and longtrack scene who will do battle in the first of three meetings to determine who will be crowned Island Masters Champion 2021.

The riding line-up in draw order is Chad Wirtzfeld (pictured), Eric Pike, Charley Powell, Tony Atkin, Nigel Coates, Dean Cutler, David Hollingsbee, Rob Fortune, Dave Hammond, Jason Prynne (TBC), Andrew Appleton, and Barry Coates.

The evening starts at 6.15 with six heats of peewee and 125cc racing followed by the Island Masters and a six heat development match featuring the Wightlink Wizards up against the Weymouth Wildcats.

Wightlink Warriors co-owner Barry Bishop said, “It’s not long to go now until we hear the roar of the engines and savour the excitement that we have all missed during the lockdown period and so Martin and myself have spent a lot of time devising a series of seven Summer Spectacular meetings packed with innovative ideas that will be a little different to the traditional speedway experience. We’re starting with round 1 of our Island Masters series which gives some of the grasstrack racers a chance to display their talent on shale and we thank SES Autoparts from Newport for their sponsorship. Whilst grasstrack and speedway have many similarities, it will be fascinating to see how well these boys adapt to the Smallbrook shale and I can’t wait to get going next Thursday.

We will also be showcasing our up-and-coming youngsters with a series of peewee 125cc races as well as getting the Wightlink Wizards on track against Weymouth so it’s a bumper bundle of activity for everyone to enjoy.”


bottom of page