top of page




  • Writer's pictureRob Dyer

Final Four Upright Seeded Riders Named

After announcing Gordon Kennett, Ian Barney, Wayne Broadhurst and Tony Atkin as the first four seeded riders in this year’s NORA Upright British Championship, the final four riders going directly to the competition final at the Smallbrook Stadium have been named today.

They are Tim Curnock (reigning four valve British Veteran Upright Champion), Dean Felton (former British Veteran Upright Champion and IOW teamster), Mark Simmonds (pictured) (former British Masters Grasstrack Challenge Champion and another former IOW speedway Islander) and lastly Darren Phillips (former British Amateur Upright Champion and ex-Wolverhampton speedway rider).

This now completes a highly competitive and evenly matched group of seeded racers, all with titles to their name and well known throughout the track racing fraternity.

The remaining eight places in the final on the 11th of August will be decided from two qualifying rounds in Ryde on the 30th June and 21st July when the top four riders from each qualifier will progress to join the seeds and compete for the first ever NORA British Upright Championship.

Keep a look out for rider features on the newly named seeds as well as the qualifying round line-ups over the coming weeks!”


bottom of page