top of page




  • Rob Dyer

Andrew Appleton Tops Island Masters Tree As Wizards Clip The Kestrels Wings

It was a night of celebration at Smallbrook Stadium for Andrew Appleton (pictured) who fought off some tough competition to emerge as the winner of the inaugural Island Masters Series.

The multi-award winning Grass Track racer went into last night’s third and final round as the series leader and he consolidated that position by finishing joint top scorer in qualification before going on to win a spectacular A Final that was brought to a sudden halt when fellow A finalist James Shanes fell mid-race whilst in hot pursuit of Appleton. It looked as if Dorset based Shanes was about to pounce and take the race lead, but it was not to be and fortunately Shanes was quickly on his feet although his machine was clearly much worse off.

That A final also featured local favourite Chad Wirtzfeld, who went on to take second place overall, and Round 2 winner James Wright who again looked super fast but a tape touch in the A Final saw him penalised with a15 meter handicap that proved to be detrimental.