top of page




  • Rob Dyer

Meeting Result - Ben Morley Wins Vince Mapley Trophy

‘Wightlink’ Warrior Ben Morley was in a class of his own as he completed six unbeaten rides at the Smallbrook Stadium to win the third staging of speedway’s Vince Mapley Memorial Trophy, an event that saw all three podium places occupied by home riders.

Peerless in the qualifying stages, Morley and his closest rival Ben Hopwood (11 points) were drawn in separate semi-finals before coming together in a winner take all grand final. With first pick of starting position, Morley took his favoured outside berth and as the tapes rose made a text book start to secure overall victory.

Whilst Morley was showing a clean pair of heels to the opposition, team mate Scott Campos provided much of the passing action with several trade mark bursts of speed round turns three and four. Birmingham rider Callum Walker also made the grand final after a thoroughly workmanlike performance.

Warriors co-promoter Barry Bishop said, “We put 30 tons of new shale on the track after last week’s meeting and it took a couple of heats to fully blend in with the old surface but after that it was absolutely fine as evidenced by several sub 70 second times. Congratulations to Ben on his win. Definitely the best rider on the night and a very deserving recipient of the trophy”.

Qualifying Scorers: Kelsey Dugard 5, Sam Woolley 0, Shaun Tedham 3, Ben Hopwood 11, Tom Woolley 6, Callum Walker 8, Ben Morley 12, Danno Verge 4, Chris Widman 1, Scott Campos 10, Jamie Sealey 0, Alfie Bowtell 10, Jamie Bursill (res) 2.

Grand Final: Morley, Hopwood, Campos, Walker.

bottom of page