MILDENHALL 'Fen Tigers' vs ISLE OF WIGHT 'Warriors'

National Trophy : 03/06/2018


Warriors Roaming Into Tiger Territory


This Sunday the Isle of Wight ‘Wightlink’ Warriors speedway team are scheduled to ride the sixth meeting out of eight in this season’s National Trophy competition when they head off to face the Mildenhall Fen Tigers in Suffolk.


Still seeking a victory in the competition, the Island side come up against the unbeaten southern section leaders who have been on fire this season.  Their youthful septet can secure a place in the National Trophy final with a win over the Warriors who will come up against Drew Kemp, the outstanding 15 year old who has taken the league by storm as evidenced by his maximum score on the Island a month ago.


Warriors continue without injury victim Ben Morley and have recruited Max Clegg from Stoke to deputise.  Adam Portwood is still absent considering his future options so local junior Connor King will again stand-in at reserve.  There is some positive news from Scott Campos who has reported that he expects to be fit to resume following his shoulder knock last week.


Fen Tigers: Josh Bailey, Sam Bebee, Danny Halsey, Ryan Kinsley, Danny Ayres, Drew Kemp, Matt Marson.


Warriors: Max Clegg, Danno Verge, Ben Hopwood, Chris Widman, Scott Campos, Connor King, Shaun Tedham.


Warriors Humbled By Terrific Tigers


Mildenhall 66 Isle of Wight 24


Mildenhall continued their unbeaten start to the speedway season as they easily outgunned the Isle of Wight ‘Wightlink’ Warriors team in Suffolk in this afternoon’s National Trophy fixture.


After a blip in heat one when Warrior’s guest rider Max Clegg took the race win, the Fen Tigers, currently the hottest team in British speedway, were then quickly into their work registering heat advantages in every race from heat two to heat ten building an unassailable twenty eight point advantage along the way before going on to complete a huge forty two point win on the day.


Whilst every home rider could point to making an influential contribution, on the visitor’s side it was scraps only with Clegg fighting a solo rearguard action for his ten points.


Fen Tigers: Josh Bailey 10, Sam Bebee 6+1, Danny Halsey 8+2, Ryan Kinsley 12, Danny Ayres 11, Drew Kemp 10+2, Matt Marson 9+3.


Warriors: Max Clegg 10, Danno Verge 4+1, Ben Hopwood 5, Chris Widman 1, Scott Campos 3, Connor King 1, Shaun Tedham 0.

For more in depth information, click HERE to view our full Privacy Policy PDF document.