top of page




  • Writer's pictureRob Dyer

Warriors Name 2023 Line-Up

The ‘Wightlink’ Warriors are the first team in the new Nora Speedway League to unveil their 2023 line-up – with many of last season’s favourite’s back to excite the Smallbrook faithful.

With the season provisionally set to start on Thursday 22nd June, the Nora League’s structure will see six-man teams race over fifteen heats and Island fans will be able to welcome back Ben Morley (pictured), Henry Atkins, George Congreve, Arran Butcher, Rhys Naylor and ‘old-hand’ Wayne Parker when the tapes go up.

Returning team manager Steve Piper could hardly contain his enthusiasm as he said,

‘Wow, what a line-up the promoters have secured as we embark on the innovative Nora Speedway League. It’s my job to now fit together this six-piece jigsaw to achieve optimum output, but that doesn’t worry me at all. I know all these lads from last year and you couldn’t have picked a better bunch of racers and entertainers. Rest assured I will be in regular contact with them all as we build towards our season launch and they will be getting total support from myself and the club management as we look for trophies in the new era’.

Wightlink Warriors co-owner Barry Bishop added,

“Whilst 2021 was good and 2022 even better, we are delighted that we will have proper team speedway in the new season and in fairness to the riders who participated in many of last season’s events we wanted to offer them even more track time in 2023. They have been loyal to us and it was only right that we reciprocated. Add in the fact that these guys have become firm favourites with our supporters, it looks like a winning combination all round.

We are currently planning thirteen home meetings for the summer and a fixture list will be released soon, however in addition to the Nora Speedway League meetings, we will still offer Flat Track, Uprights, Pairs, Handicaps, Women’s events and more. It will be another busy year for sure, but that’s just the way we like it!”


bottom of page